The inaugural International Historic Motoring Awards

The inaugural International Historic Motoring Awards dinner took place on November 16 at London’s elegant St Pancras Renaissance Hotel. The awards evening drew an audience from across the historic motor sport and motoring industry, both from the UK and from overseas, and was hosted by former Grand Prix racer and TV commentator Martin Brundle. The international panel of judges called upon experienced luminaries such as Murray Smith, Patrick Peter, Derek Bell, Simon Kidston, Tony Dron and Nick Mason to make the difficult decisions to pick the winners.


In one of the most keenly fought categories, Historic Motor Racing News editor Carol Spagg and Ben Cussons were delighted to accept the award for the Series of the Year on behalf of competitors who drove in and supported their Pre-’63 GT series in 2011. This series, of three to four races per season, has succeeded in bringing out cars that are not usually seen on the circuits of Europe, such as SWB and GTO Ferrari, Aston Martin Project and Zagato, but also a fine selection of Alfa SZ, Lotus Elite, MGA Twincam, AC Ace – cars that have not had a sensible place to race in recent years. The series prides itself on the quality of the cars and their authenticity – many of the cars on the grid are the actual race winning cars of the period, and not just look-alikes. The Royal Automobile Club awards the Royal Automobile Club Tourist Trophy for Historic Cars to the winner of the Pre-’63 GT race at the Silverstone Classic event, an honour for the whole series and all its drivers.

Ben Cussons and Carol Spagg accept the award on behalf of all the drivers in the series

There were 12 different awards presented, and amongst the most popular winners were the Historic Sports Car Club, for Club of the Year, and the Lindner Nöcker E-type by Classic Motor Cars for Restoration of the Year, while a large amount of applause went to Kevin Wheatcroft, who won the Personal Achievement of the Year award for his many efforts to bring motor racing back to Donington circuit after recent hard times for the circuit.


The most popular winner of all was Sir Stirling Moss, when he was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award to a standing ovation lasting several minutes - a moving moment.


Historic Motor Racing News, the only monthly magazine published specifically for European competitors, supports the Pre-’63 GT series.

Sir Stirling Moss, here with Tony Brooks and Martin Brundle, received the Lifetime Achievement Award to tumultuous applause

Congratulations to all the winners. A full list follows:


• Lifetime Achievement Award: Sir Stirling Moss

• Car of the Year: Porsche Type 64 Rekordwagen, Automuseum Prototyp, Germany

• Motoring Event of the Year, sponsored by Classic Motor Cars: Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance, USA

• Motorsport Event of the Year: Goodwood Revival, UK

• Personal Achievement of the Year, sponsored by The Sunday Times InGear: Kevin Wheatcroft of Donington Park Circuit, UK

• Book of the Year: Ultimate E-type - The Competition Cars - by Philip Porter

• Club of the Year, sponsored by Ellis Clowes: Historic Sports Car Club

• Industry Champion of the Year, sponsored by the HSCC: the Revs Program at Stanford University, USA

• Innovation of the Year: 3D Engineers, UK

• Museum or Collection of the Year: Simeone Foundation Automotive Museum, USA

• Historic Race Series of the Year, sponsored by BRM watches: Pre-63 GT

• Restoration of the Year, sponsored by EFG International: Lindner/Nöcker lightweight Jaguar E-type, Classic Motor Cars, UK

Views: 41


You need to be a member of The Vintage Racing League to add comments!

Join The Vintage Racing League

© 2020   Created by Travis Buckingham and Stephen Page   Powered by Buckingham Creative

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service